Short Story

I decided that it was time to take a break from editing and write something. Since I didn’t want it to take to long, this editing does have a deadline, I decided on a short story. I happened upon the submission guidelines for a fun looking anthology that just got it’s funding through Kickstarter and decided to go for it. If I’m lucky they won’t get to many other submissions, as in less competition for me, we shall see!

Once the short story idea was in my head and the anthologies theme decided upon I decided I must write it. I wish it was that simple for my other stories. There was I was at my Sunday Writers Group trying to edit my old novel to no avail. Ten minutes left on the timer and I decided that I needed to get something done. Switched my documents and got 500words in before the end.

At the end of the night I was half way to my goal of 5,000 words. While my SO was not happy to hear that I would be spending extra time that night finishing my writing instead of spending time with him he was able to distract himself. I finished the short story at 4,700 words. Then I tried to sleep. This did not actually work. After hours of tossing back and forth I got up, wrote a new ending to my story bringing it to just above my original 5k goal, and then sent it to my alpha reader. She should get back to me by the end of the week, perhaps with some good news?

Leave a Reply

