Kicking Off 2015 – Writing Goals

There are four major goals for this upcoming year and each major goal as three sub goals. As expected, one of my major goals is getting published. The sub goals for writing are as follows:

 

1)      Write and submit one short story per month. This nets me twelve short stories in the year and it will help me go through each stage of the noveling process in a small scale; plotting, writing, editing, and submitting. These shorter works should help me become a better author while not taking the time dedication needed for a novel.

2)      Write three 50k novels. One for each NNWM camp, and one for official NNWM. Go big or go home!

3)      Edit the novel from this year’s NNWM and send to publishers. This is a full year goal because the editing, beta reading, and further editing will take a lot of time. I’ve gotten a head start by doing edits on some pages I printed out.  I’m seeing new issues with every page, not just the ones I saw while writing. It’s disheartening, but I am determined. This book has the needed bones, they just have to be polished.

 

As a mini sub goal I will continue to post here, an estimated three times a week. A friend showed me Weekend Writing Warriors which I plan to make one of my consistent posts. With the amount of editing and critiquing I plan to do this year I think it would be fun to have a weekly post covering issues I have been seeing throughout the week. I might add ways to focus on these problems while self-editing and any easy ways to fix them. Not sure what my last weekly post will be, perhaps checking in on how the progress is going on these goals? Time will tell.

 

PS: I did send out one short story during 2014. I just got the word that it was rejected. Time for editing! It will be sent out again by the end of Jan, with whichever new story I might write!

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

