A is for Anaphora

This post is a part of the A to Z Challenge. Every day (minus Sunday’s) during April in 2015 I will be making a post related to a literary device which starts with a particular letter of the alphabet. I have a general idea that these posts will be describing the same characters as they go through their lives, but I haven’t written all the posts yet so no promises!

Anaphora – In writing or speech, the deliberate repetition of the first part of the sentence in order to achieve an artistic effect is known as Anaphora.

I thought it would be fun to use anaphora to make social media profiles for each of my characters.

I am Valentine the dog. My favorite thing in the whole wide world is yogurt. Yes it’s better than peanut butter, maybe. I’m the youngest of seven and love all my siblings even if I don’t see them. I love to play and bark! Message me if you want to make a connection.

I am Eric the college student. My favorite thing in the whole wide world is Amanda Palmer’s music. Yes it’s better than sex, maybe. I’m the oldest of two and I would prefer I never saw my other sibling again. I love to act and sing! Message me if you want to make a connection.

I am Vic the high school student. My favorite thing in the whole wide world is the anime Free!. Yes it’s better than coffee, maybe. I’m the youngest of two and I am happy to have my older sibling out of the house. I love to read and debate! Message me if you want to make a connection.

Since I wrote the dog’s profile first the two human profiles sound a little young. Perhaps the site they are using automatically fills this paragraph out for them after they answer some questions?

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

