B is for Blank Verse

This post is a part of the A to Z Challenge. Every day (minus Sunday’s) during April in 2015 I will be making a post related to a literary device which starts with a particular letter of the alphabet. I have a general idea that these posts will be describing the same characters as they go through their lives, but I haven’t written all the posts yet so no promises!

Blank Verse – A blank verse is a poem with no rhyme but does have iambic pentameter. This means it consists of lines of five feet, each foot being iambic, meaning two syllables long, one stressed followed by an unstressed.

Home

Spring Break is here at last

Time away from homework’s grasp

My dog is here to pet and play

My sister will be ignored all day

That is what my brain will say

But reality is far away

Projects will be worked on

Subjects will be studied

Take home tests to do

Free time where are you?

That wasn’t supposed to have any rhymes…. Lets try again.

Debate

Get out

But Vic I

I do not care

I will stay here

You will leave

This is my house too

Maybe you shouldn’t have left for school

You watch, one day you will too

I’m not sure I like that one much either. Anyone have any hints?

Leave a Reply

