C is for Connotation

This post is a part of the A to Z Challenge. Every day (minus Sunday’s) during April in 2015 I will be making a post related to a literary device which starts with a particular letter of the alphabet. I have a general idea that these posts will be describing the same characters as they go through their lives, but I haven’t written all the posts yet so no promises!

I apologize for being behind. I plan to catch up now that it’s my weekend!

Connotation – refers to a meaning that is implied by a word apart from the thing which it describes explicitly. Words carry cultural and emotional associations or meanings in addition to their literal meanings or denotations. For instance, “Wall Street” literally means a street situated in Lower Manhattan but connotatively it refers to “wealth” and “power”.

Since I’m running behind and would like to catch up quickly I’m going to keep this short. A description of my character using different words with the same definition but different connotations.

Eric the college student consistently listens to music while examining his notes.

Eric the freshman always listens to rap while analyzing his notes.

Freshman is a specific level of college student which implies newer. As one who doesn’t like rap music I would look down on this, thinking the rap music to be distracting. I personally feel that analyzing sounds more action oriented than examining. The first feels like he is just looking over his notes while analyzing sounds like he wants to understand his notes.

Leave a Reply

